Fitness DVD Review: Kim Kardashian’s Butt Blasting Cardio Step

Nearly a month ago for my birthday I received a voucher which I chose to spend at Borders. Because I’m so impulsive sometimes I decided to see the voucher as “free money” (hey, it’s not like I earned it –it was a gift!) and spent it on Kim Kardashian’s 3-DVD Collection “Fit Into Your Jeans By Friday. Sometimes this logic get’s the better of me, however I am surprised at how much I’m liking the series.

It’s not that I have anything against Miss Kardashian, it’s just a lot of the time Celebrity Fitness DVD’s are disappointing. I remember years ago I bought Geri Halliwell’s Yoga DVD (remember her crazy yogi faze?!). It was basically Geri’s Yoga instructor taking Geri through basic moves. Geri wasn’t really doing anything. It was lack lustre to say the least and …boring.

Anyway a basic review of Kim’s Cardio Step component of the “Fit Into Your Jeans By Fridayseries:

Butt Blasting Cardio Step DVD

You will need a Step. Some other reviewers state you don’t necessarily need one as the moves themselves could be done on the floor. I have only done the DVD with my Reebok Step, however I can see this being completed without one, it would just be lower impact.

The Step Programme starts with a warm up (which really does warm you up!) and then three Step Combinations, followed by a Bonus Combination combining the three learnt. Then there’s a cool down section.

Being new to step programmes I was wondering whether I would be able to keep in time with Kim, and to my relief I was. In my opinion (and coming from someone definitely not dance or step coordinated!), steps were repeated just enough times to really get the moves down, and put them all together. And of course the great thing about a DVD is you can go back and repeat if you’re finding it tricky. I found I preferred certain routines over others, so at the end I repeated certain moves, but that’s the beauty of being able to go back and forth on a DVD!

When I first heard about this DVD series I did think, oh man, fit into your jeans by friday? What a load of … ! While I probably won’t be fitting into my (old) jeans by FRIDAY, I wouldn’t argue that if you kept this up regularly and ate a good diet, you wouldn’t be far off fitting into them some Friday soon!

Overall I really enjoyed this Step Programme. My heart rate was at an average of 84% of my total heart rate throughout, and the sweat covering my body was a sure sign that I had a great cardio workout. And my butt was SORE the next day, so she wasn’t lying about the blasting!

Can you recommend any great workout DVD’s?

One response to “Fitness DVD Review: Kim Kardashian’s Butt Blasting Cardio Step

  1. Great review! Nana is buying us a wii for christmas so I can’t wait to get stuck into Jillian’s game as well as wii Fit. It will be interesting to see if I keep it up as don’t usually have much sticking power for home workouts, I need the gym to keep me motivated!

Leave a Reply

